The Department of Sociology at the University of California, Davis, invites applicants for a tenure- track position for scholars whose central research focus is sociology of race and ethnicity. This recruitment is conducted at the rank of Assistant Professor (salary commensurate with experience). The resulting hire will be at the assistant rank regardless of the proposed appointee’s qualifications. We seek a scholar with a strong commitment to research and teaching. Teaching duties include four courses per academic year (quarter system) at the introductory, advanced undergraduate, and graduate level.

Read More

DSC_5265_color_smTaekjin Shin is currently serving on the OOW Section Council.  Shin is an Assistant Professor in the College of Business Administration at San Diego State University (SDSU).  Before joining SDSU, Shin was an Assistant Professor in the School of Labor and Employment Relations at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  He received his Ph.D in sociology in 2008 from the University of California at Berkeley.

Shin’s research interests concern corporate governance, executive compensation, wage inequality, organizational sociology, and economic sociology. He is currently studying the institutional explanation for the rise of executive compensation and the symbolic effect of shareholder-value orientation on the career outcomes of executive managers.  Below, Shin expands upon his research and his professional experiences for the newsletter.

Read More

The ASA Rose Series in Sociology, a book series published by the Russell Sage Foundation, is seeking book proposals. The Rose Series publishes cutting-edge, highly visible, and accessible books that offer synthetic analyses of existing fields, challenge prevailing paradigms, and/or offer fresh views on enduring controversies. Books published in the Series reach a broad audience of sociologists, other social scientists, and policymakers.

Please submit a 1-page summary & CV to: Lee Clarke,

For more information, visit


Presented by The Frameworks Institute

The Frameworks Institute is giving a course on Friday, August 19 in Seattle. Below is the information on the course. It will be offered twice; 10:00am and 2:00pm. You can register for it here If you are having trouble registering for the course, please contact Please be sure to pass this along to the members of your section so that they are aware of this opportunity. 

Read More

Congratulations to this year’s OOW Award Winners!

Max Weber Award: The Max Weber Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work in a book published within the last three years (2013-2015).

Winner: Lauren Rivera (Northwestern) for her book Pedigree: How Elite Students Get Elite Jobs

Committee: Kate Kellogg (Chair), Mike Lounsbury, Martin Ruef, Vicki Smith 

Thompson Award: The James D. Thompson Award is given for an outstanding graduate student paper on organizations, occupations, and work written in the three years prior to the award (January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2015).

Winner: Benjamin Shestakofsky (UC, Berkeley) “High-Tech and High-Touch: The Labor Behind the Screens of an Online Market.”
Honorable mention: Patrick Reilly (UCLA) “The Layers of a Clown: Career Development in Cultural Production Industries.”

Committee: Michel Anteby (chair), David Pedulla, Pam Tolbert

Scott Award: The W. Richard Scott Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to the discipline in an article on organizations, occupations and work published within the last three years (January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2015).

Winner: DiBenigno, J., and Kellogg, Katherine C. (MIT) “Beyond occupational differences the importance of cross-cutting demographics and dyadic toolkits for collaboration in a US hospital.” Administrative Science Quarterly.
Honorable mention: Mears, Ashley (Boston University) “Working for Free in the VIP Relational Work and the Production of Consent.” American Sociological Review.

Committee: Lisa Cohen (Chair), Emily Erikson, Andras Tilcsik 

The John Glenn College of Public Affairs at The Ohio State University welcomes applications and nominations for a faculty position in public management. The position is at the assistant level and tenure track. We especially encourage applications from scholars who study management issues related to diverse populations. Topical areas of interest include, but are not limited to, studies of leadership, organizational behavior, managerial decision making, human resource management, strategic management, and inter-organizational and cross-sector collaboration. We welcome scholars employing a variety of methodological approaches, so long as the research is analytically rigorous and has implications for management practice. The successful candidate will be expected to publish research in leading public affairs journals.

Salary will be commensurate with the candidate’s experience and qualifications. Applicants must have completed all Ph.D. degree requirements by August, 2017. Successful candidates will likely have doctorates in public affairs, public administration/management, public policy, business, sociology, psychology, political science, economics, or a related field. Highly desirable candidates will have experience working with public or nonprofit organizations, university teaching experience, or experience mentoring members of underrepresented groups.

Read More


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers