Call for Participants: Gender, Professions, and Organizations Writing Workshop

Register now for the 19th semi-annual Gender, Professions, and Organizations writing workshop. This summer’s workshop will be held virtually over Zoom on Friday, July 31st. To register for the workshop, email Sharla Alegria (sharla.alegria@utoronto.ca), Ethel Mickey (emickey@umass.edu) or Melissa Abad (mabad2@stanford.edu). 

The overall schedule for the day will be:

Session 1 : 10am – 1pm ET/7am-10am PT

Session 2: 1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT

(Option to join one or both sessions!)

Break: 4pm-5pm ET/ 1-2pm PT

Feminist Salo(o)n: 5-6:30pm ET/2-3:30pm PT (Moderated Conversation on Feminist Futures in Gender, Professions, and Organizations will start at 5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT)

 Dear Colleagues and Friends,

 The 19th semi-annual Gender, Professions, and Organizations Writing Workshop will take place virtually, using Zoom, from 10:00am (ET)/7am (PT) to 6:30pm (ET)/3:30pm (PT) on Friday, July 31, 2020. Originally a workgroup of sociologists doing research on gender and academic careers, scientific workplace organizations, and organizational transformations to promote gender equality, the workshop now includes scholars of gender, professions, and organizations. The purpose of the workshop is to learn about the range of work that attendees are doing, to connect with others over mutual research interests, and to write “on site” together.

For many of us who have been involved in the past, the writing workshop is a valuable space for networking, community building, and intellectual exchange around collaborative work–all of the things that are hardest to replicate in a virtual environment. We’ve worked to create a format for an online workshop that, we think, will allow us to continue the spirit of the writing workshop and foster community around sociological scholarship of gender, professions, and organizations (using digital tools). We encourage new and returning participants. If you’ve never come, welcome, and if you have, welcome back! 

The day will be organized as two writing sessions: each independent session will include time to learn about each other and our work, and time for writing on your own. The workshop will conclude with a joint social event–it’s a sort of structured happy hour we’re calling a “Feminist Salo(o)n.” Because we are trying to accommodate participants in different time zones, all working from home with various other work and care commitments, we encourage participants to join for one or both writing sessions and to take breaks throughout the day as demands arise. The final part of the workshop brings us back together for the “Feminist Salo(o)n” for a brief discussion of the day and a moderated conversation with scholars we are excited to hear from about the current state and future of sociological research in the area of gender, professions, and organizations. We’ll keep the conversation active with multiple modes for inclusive participation and space for broader discussion. 

All interested sociological scholars working in the area of gender, professions, and organizations are welcome to join. Send an email to Sharla Alegria (sharla.alegria@utoronto.ca), Ethel Mickey (emickey@umass.edu), of Melissa Abad (mabad2@stanford.edu) by July 24th to register.   

Best,

Summer 2020 Gender, Professions, and Organizations Writing Workshop Co-Organizers

Ethel Mickey (Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Massachusetts Amherst, ADVANCE)

Melissa Abad (Research Associate, Stanford University, VMWare Women’s Leadership Innovation Lab)

Elizabeta Shifrin (PhD Student, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

Sharla Alegria (Assistant Professor, University of Toronto) 

Rodica Lisnic (Lecturer, University of Arkansas)

Kathrin Zippel (Professor, Northeastern University)

Laura Kramer (Professor Emerita, Montclair State University)

Former organizers: Christina Falci, Laura Hirshfield, Julia McQuillan, and Enobong Hannah (Anna) Branch, Shauna Morimoto

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.