Organizations, Occupations, and Work Award Nominations Calls

OOW Distinguished Career Award

The Distinguished Career Award recognizes and celebrates a career of contributions to the area(s) of organizations, occupations, and/or work. Nominations are judged on the depth and breadth of scholarly impact over an extended time and across multiple projects.

Section members may nominate a distinguished scholar by sending (1) a letter (PDF or MSWord) of nomination, which outlines the candidate’s scholarly contributions to the field and provides assurance of the candidate’s willingness to be nominated, (2) a copy of the candidate’s most recent curriculum vitae, and (3) full contact information for the nominee (including email address), to the Chair of the selection committee. To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2020.

The members of the 2020 Distinguished Career Award Committee are the officers of the OOW section. Please submit nominations to:

Tim Bartley
Department of Sociology
Washington University
bartleyt@wustl.edu

Max Weber Book Award

The Max Weber Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work in a book published within the last three years (2017-2019). A book may be nominated by its author(s), by its publisher, or by any ASA member.

To nominate a book, send (1) a copy of the book and (2) contact information for the nominee (including an email address) to each member of the selection committee at the addresses below. Publishers who wish to submit a book for consideration must include a nomination letter that states how the book contributes to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work. To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2020.

Please submit your nomination to each of the members of the 2020 Weber Book Award Committee:

Chair: LaTonya Trotter
Department of Sociology
Vanderbilt University
PMB 351811
Nashville, TN 37235-1811
l.trotter@vanderbilt.edu

Joseph C. Hermanowicz
Department of Sociology
University of Georgia
324A Baldwin Hall
Athens, GA 30602-1611
jch1@uga.edu

Michelle Maroto
Department of Sociology
University of Alberta
6-23 Tory Building
Edmonton, AB T6G 2H4
maroto@ualberta.ca

Richard E. Ocejo
Department of Sociology
John Jay College and the Graduate Center, CUNY
John Jay College, CUNY
524 W. 59th St.; 520.12HH
New York, NY, 10019
rocejo@jjay.cuny.edu

Hana Shepherd
Department of Sociology
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
26 Nichol Avenue
New Brunswick, New Jersey 08901
hshepherd@sociology.rutgers.edu

James D. Thompson Graduate Student Paper Award

The James D. Thompson Award is given for an outstanding graduate student paper on organizations, occupations, and work written within the last three years (2017-2019). The winner receives $500 for travel to a professional meeting. Authors may nominate themselves, or section members may do so. To nominate a paper, send (1) a PDF file of the paper or a functioning URL where it can be accessed, (2) a letter (PDF or MSWord) justifying the nomination, and (3) contact information for the nominee (including email), to each member of the selection committee. To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2020.

Please submit your nomination to each of the members of the 2020 Thompson Award Committee: 

Chair: Michael Sauder
Department of Sociology
University of Iowa
Michael-sauder@uiowa.edu

Erynn Casanova
Department of Sociology
University of Cincinnati
erynn.casanova@uc.edu

Michael Gibson-Light
Department of Sociology
University of Denver
Michael.Gibson-Light@du.edu

Adilia James
Department of Sociology
Endicott College
ajames@endicott.edu

Megan Neely
Department of Sociology
Stanford University
mtneely@stanford.edu

Richard Scott Article Award

The W. Richard Scott Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work in an article published within the last three years (2017-19). An article may be nominated by its author(s) or by any ASA member.

To nominate an article, send (1) a PDF file of the article or a functioning URL where it can be accessed, (2) a letter (PDF or MSWord) justifying the nomination, and (3) contact information for the nominee (including email), to each member of the selection committee. Publication date is based on print publication for traditional journals (i.e., not online-first date), and release date for online-only journals. To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2020.

Please submit your nomination to each of the members of the 2020 Thompson Award Committee members:

Chair: Sarah Thebaud
Department of Sociology
University of California-Santa Barbara
sthebaud@soc.ucsb.edu

Joe Broschak
Department of Sociology
University of Arizona
broschak@email.arizona.edu

Reggie Byron
Department of Sociology
Southwestern University
byronr@southwestern.edu

Amanda Sharkey
Department of Organizations and Strategy
University of Chicago
sharkey@chicagobooth.edu

Ben Shestakofsky
Department of Sociology
University of Pennsylvania
bshesta@upenn.edu

Olav Sorenson
School of Management
Yale University
olav.sorenson@yale.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.