2014 Weber Award winner Ofar Sharon (right); photo courtesy Alexandra Kalev

2014 Weber Award winner Ofar Sharon (right); photo courtesy Alexandra Kalev

The Max Weber Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work in a book published within the last three years (2012-14). A book may be nominated by its author(s), or by its publisher, or by any ASA member. To nominate a book, send (1) a copy of the book, and (2) contact information for the nominee (including an email address) to each member of the selection committee at the addresses below. Nominations, including copies of the book, must be received by all committee members no later than March 31, 2015.

The Contacts for the 2015 Weber Award Committee are:

Ofer Sharone (chair), Institute for Work and Employment Research, MIT Sloan, 100 Main St., Bldg. E62-340, Cambridge, MA, 02142-1347, osharone@mit.edu

Beth Bechky, Dept of Management and Organizations, Stern School of Business, New York University, New York, NY, 10012, bbechky@stern.nyu.edu

Nicole Biggart, Graduate School of Management, University of California, Davis, Davis, CA, 95616, nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu

Gabriel Rossman, Department of Sociology, University of California, Los Angeles, 287 Haines Hall, Los Angeles, CA, 90095-1551, rossman@soc.ucla.edu


2014 Winner

Ofer Sharone. 2014. Flawed System/Flawed Self: Job Searching and Unemployment Experiences. University of Chicago Press.

2013 Winner
Elizabeth Popp Berman. 2012. Creating the Market University: How Academic Science Became an Economic Engine. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

2012 Winner
Kate Kellog. 2011. Challenging Operations: Medical Reform and Resistance in Surgery. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

2011 Winner
Martin Ruef. 2010. The Entrepreneurial Group: Social Identities, Relations, and Collective Action. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

2010 Winner
Frank Dobbin. 2009. Inventing Equal Opportunity. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

2009 Winner
Matthew Desmond. 2007. On the Fireline: Living and Dying with Wildland Firefighters. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

2008 Winner
Rakesh Khurana. 2007. From Higher Aims to Hired Hands: The Social Transformation of American Business Schools and the Unfulfilled Promise of Management as a Profession. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

2007 Winner
Nicole C. Raeburn. 2004. Changing Corporate America from Inside Out: Lesbian and Gay Workplace Rights. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.

2006 Winner
Jerome Karabel. 2005. The Chosen: The Hidden History of Admission and Exclusion at Harvard, Yale, and Princeton. New York: Houghton Mifflin.

2005 Winner
Maria Charles and David Grusky. 2005. Occupational Ghettos: The Worldwide Segregation of Women and Men. Palo Alto: Stanford University Press.

2004 Winner
Judy Stephan-Norris and Maurice Zeitlin. 2003. Left Out: Reds and America’s Industrial Unions. New York: Cambridge University Press.

2003 Winner
Charles Perrow. 2002. Organizing America: Wealth, Power, and the Origins of Corporate Capitalism. Princeton: Princeton University.

2002 Winner
Richard Scott, Martin Ruef, Peter J. Mendel, and Carol A. Caronna. 2000. Institutional Change in Healthcare Organizations: From Professional Dominance to Managed Care. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

2001 Winner
Marie-Kaure Djelic. 2001. Exporting the American Model: The Postwar Transformation of European Business. New York: Oxford University Press.

2000 Winner
Howard Aldrich. 1999. Organizations Evolving. Thousand Oaks: SAGE.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers