The Association for Humanist Sociology is pleased to announce The Betty and Alfred McClung Lee Book Award for 2015. Authors, publishers, and AHS members may nominate books for consideration. The winner will be recognized at our annual meeting October 21-25, 2015 in Portland, OR. Nominations should be for Sociology or interdisciplinary social science books that approach their subjects from a humanist perspective.

Founded in 1976, the Association sees its mission to strive as professionals, as scholars and as activists to uncover and address social issues. We view people not merely as products of social forces, but also as agents in their lives and the world. We are committed to a sociology that contributes to a more humane, equal, and just society.

Eligible books should have been published in the calendar year 2014 or the first half of 2015. If a book was submitted for last year’s consideration, it cannot be nominated again.

To nominate a book, authors/publishers/nominators should e-mail a letter of nomination with the subject line “Betty and Alfred McClung Lee Book Award Nomination” to Daina Cheyenne Harvey at Authors/publishers should send one copy of the book to each of the award committee members listed below. The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2015. Additional information about AHS is available at

We are excited to announce that the 2014 OOW Section Awards committees have been organized. For those of you unfamiliar with our awards process, we offer three awards on a yearly basis:

Details on each award, including award committees and submission processes, can be found on each award’s webpage. Follow the links above, or from the site menu, for additional information.

2013 Max Weber Award for best book:

Congratulations to Elizabeth Popp Berman, author of Creating the Market University: How Academic Science Became an Economic Engine (Princeton University Press, 2012).

Thanks to Kate Kellogg, Emily Barman, Kieran Healy, and Joseph Hermanowicz for serving on the Weber Award committee.


2013 W. Richard Scott Award for best article:

Congratulations to Isabel Fernandez-Mateo and Zelia King for receiving the Scott award for their article titled “Anticipatory Sorting and Gender Segregation in Temporary Employment,” published in Management Science, 2011.

The committee also wishes to recognize Cheris Sung-ching Chan for her article “Culture, State, and Varieties of Capitalism: A Comparative Study of Life Insurance Markets in Hong Kong and Taiwain,” published in the British Journal of Sociology, 2012. (Honorable Mention – Scott Award)

Thanks to Ruthanne Huising, Debra Osnowitz, Lindsay Owens, and Ezra Zuckerman for their work on the Scott Award committee.


2013 Thompson Award for best graduate student paper:

Congratulations to Adam Goldstein (UC Berkeley) for his paper titled “Revenge of the Managers: Labor Cost-Cutting and the Paradoxical Resurgence of Managerialism in the Shareholder Value Era, 1984-2001.”

Honorable mention designations were also noted for two other papers:

  • “Does this Make Me Look Fat? Aesthetic Labor and Fat Talk as Emotional Labor in a Women’s Plus-Size Clothing Store” by Kjerstin Gruys (UCLA). This piece was published in Social Problems in 2012.
  • “Defense against Recession: U.S. Business Mobilization, 1950-1970” by Todd Schifeling (Michigan).

Thanks to Sandy Welsh, Christopher Andrews, Daniel Schneider, and Gretchen Webber for their work on the Thompson committee as well.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers